There are many reasons why I am (finally) here. One of them, I wanted a lap of change. I was ACTUALLY bored of facebook and because of all the little mis-happenings that had taken place in my life during the past few months, I wanted an escape (maybe that would suggest that I am an escapist). But anyway, I am here and there has surely got to be a solid reason why I, all of a sudden out of the daily rummage, decided to start blogging.

Yes, I am an aspiring, budding writer. I am currently working on a novel, I am not able to categorize until now the genre of (and nor am I in any mood of disclosing any aspects of it, for now). The reason I came to wordpress is that, I wanted a little bit of, if not exactly privacy, then self-time, when and where I could talk to myself, as Swami Vivekananda had once said something great related to this self-talking thing, “Talk to yourself at least once in a Day.. Otherwise you may miss a meeting with an EXCELLENT person in this World…” (he was great man anyway, so he always said great things anyway).

Actually, there’s this narrator in my head which constantly keeps on narrating the things going on around me, the chirping of the birds, the screeching of the tires of the Metro cars on the rails when the driver applies the breaks, and numerous things like that. Overall, it keeps narrating the things to me in a stylish fashion, as if reading a book, whenever I am in a contemplative mood (which is always/most of the time, when either I am alone, or with a hobby partner, who, most of the time I find in my friend Harsh). Most of the times, I write down the thoughts in my phone, but since I don’t have a nice phone (its keypad is old-fashioned), it is sometimes irritating to type it down when I am in the middle of the road, or the middle of a class, or the middle of something else. So, a lot of times, or almost always, those words go wasted, or according to what popular science says, ‘are lost to the environment’. So I decided to start blogging, as it will help me keep those words from wasting away and also, it will enhance my writing skills and creativity/productivity.

I had already joined hubpages when a friend of mine told me that I could earn money through it. But hubpages has so tight set of rules and regulations, I sometimes feel suffocated. I couldn’t write frequently on it and because nobody would be interested in reading what I am upto and what is going on in my life, I thought it’s better to write it here, at a separate place than on hubpages.

Last couple of weeks I was home for Diwali holidays, from 29th of October to 10th of November, which was day before yesterday. I read Italo Calvino’s “If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller”. What a magnificent work! Beautifully written, and the concept was, as quoted by David Mitchell, “Breathtakingly Inventive.” I even wrote a short review about it on my Goodreads account. You can find it here (if you are reading this):-
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/739809593

There was, however, one thing that I realized while I was home, that my concentration power has increased considerably, i.e., now I am very well able to concentrate and read something without getting distracted every other minute. And even if I get distracted for a while, it isn’t long enough. Earlier, I just seemed to strive to concentrate; absent-mindedly, I just used to keep on reading the words like gibberish, which wasn’t proving any good for me. Maybe, it’s true: facebook (or perhaps the numerous hours spent in front of the computer screen) was really draining my mental energy and staying away from it has finally helped me regain it a bit. However, there may be an entirely different reason behind this, which seems more legitimate to me than this (which I will describe in another blog). But whatever the reason maybe, I am happy that finally things have started to settle down at my side of the horizon – good things.

This is, officially, my first blog, so it’s more like the first pee or the first poop a newly born does, and when I’ll look back to this day, to this blog, years ahead from now, I might laugh at it because of its childishness, I might cry at it because of the memories and nostalgia it holds, I might pass a crisp smile, remembering the things we (the people around me who matter the most to me) used to do, but whatever I’ll do, I’ll cherish these moments.

